QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

The Negative Side of Internet Freelancing

with one comment

Interesting piece I’ve come across.  The freelance print market is definitely the more lucrative when set beside internet opportunities.  The reasons for this vary, but one aspect highlighted by PoeWar.com that caught my eye was the difference in quality. 

The current web freelancing model produces several unfortunate results. The first is that the quality of writing on the web is low, especially freelance writing. The second is that the quality of writing assignments on the web is low so there is little incentive for writers to improve. The third is that legitimate publishers view web assignments with less respect and offer less money to people working in that market segment.

Which is why the blog will likely remain a hobby.  I know that haven’t written my best here.  The first sentence of this post, for instance, would likely serve as a danger sign to any potential publisher.  The poor quality assertion doesn’t run across the board, however.  When Bill Wallo was still blogging, he produced immaculate material consistently.  And there’s a gaggle of others. 

At any rate, I was already feeling less inclined to look for internet assignments, despite some recent attempts.  I’m still waiting for a response on one, however, so we’ll what happens. 

Written by taj

May 16, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Posted in Writing

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad you liked my article. I don’t mean to imply that all web writing is of poor quality, just that the median level is not very high. I have amended my article slightly to make that more clear. I also don’t mean to imply that you cannot make money writing on the web. My target was freelancing. Publishing your own blog has more potential. Good luck in your freelancing

    John Hewitt

    John Hewitt

    May 16, 2006 at 9:43 pm


Leave a Reply

