QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Some thoughts on writing…

leave a comment »

After reading this, I’ve decided to turn a little introspective on my recent writing, and see if fleshing out some of my thoughts on the matter will help me jump this ditch I’ve encountered in the road. 

I started a novel back in September last year, and after eight months, I’ve progressed to nearly 20,000 words.  To put this in perspective for my readers who may not know, the smallest novels run about 50,000 words.  Larger works by the big boys (Stephen King, John Grisham, etc) usually run over 100,000 words. 

So I don’t sound too lazy, let me also say that it’s taken more than 50,000 words to get there—the product of discarded beginnings, ugly prose and what have you.  I’m beginning to wonder if I’m being just a little too anal with this story.  I’ve written enough to where I know my protagonist pretty well, and I know the lesser supporting characters much better than I did last September.  20,000 words later, however, I’m stuck.  A mud hole has swallowed my boot. 

Now, I know I have already put myself at a disadvantage taking on a project like this when I haven’t even seen my work in print yet.  They say the last thing an aspiring writer should do is try to start a novel, and I’m beginning to understand why.  The novel is more like running a 10k when all you’re really used to is shorter sprints and a couple miles every other day. 

As I write this just now, the reason for my fatigue becomes a little more apparent.  Maybe it isn’t that a mud hole has swallowed my boot.  Maybe I’m just not ready to run 10k. 

At this point, I’m considering shelving the novel for a bit to focus on some shorter assignments.  Build up my wind, so to speak.  I’ve got a few ideas sitting in small notepad in my back pocket just dying for some exposition.  It may not be a bad idea. 

If the novel has any real hope, it’ll wait for me.  It’s a good story.  I just don’t feel like I’m quite ready for that run yet. 

Written by taj

June 6, 2006 at 5:59 am

Posted in Writing

Leave a Reply

