QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

On Devotions

leave a comment »

 

 

Confession time—my fortes lie not in discipline.  Just ask my father.  However, for the last five or six years, I had maintained a relatively consistent devotional life.  I started out with a small devotional booklet, and worked my way through that for a few months before I moved on to more advanced reading, especially after enrolling in Bible College. 

It’s been maybe three to four months since I’ve actively pursued any kind of devotional discipline, however.  I had settled into an innocuous routine of reading a chapter of scripture, usually from one of Paul’s epistles, and then journaling a few pages of prayer. 

Truthfully, I think I just got tired of it.  I had read through all of Paul’s letters, and every book thereafter (save for the Revelation) probably four times.  My journaling had turned into exhaustive displays of my worry spilled out onto paper.  My experience of anything new, or refreshing, or even provoking had become as still as a pond.  My prayers became a lumpy collection of confused thoughts and a laundry list of requests. 

I think God the Heavenly Father deserves a little better. 

Prayer, I think, is more about forging and maintaining a relationship than it is a delivery of wants or needs, or even a string of confused prose pieced together by a mind that’s forgotten how to quiet itself.  So things have been a little frustrating for me, and it’s led to a certain amount of questions. 

Although, I do believe that God receives even addled prayer.  If anything through this, I am reminded of His considerable patience. 

Written by taj

September 21, 2006 at 4:03 pm

Posted in Prayer

Leave a Reply

