QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

I am Time’s Person of the Year

with one comment

And so are you, apparently.

I recall a moment in book two of Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker “Trilogy,” The Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

The deposed President of the Universe, a terribly self absorbed little man named Zaphod Beeblebrox, has been sentenced enter the Total Perspective Vortex. The Vortex shows you just how small and insignificant you are compared to the vastness of all creation, and once you see just how unimportant you are, it just kills you.

Zaphod, however, emerges from the Vortex unharmed. It simply confirmed, you see, that he really was the most important person in the universe.

And now, thanks to this, I can share the same gleeful satisfaction.

Somehow, I don’t think this is what the editorial board at Time had in mind. But thanks for thinking of me anyway, folks. I appreciate it.

Written by taj

December 20, 2006 at 1:16 pm

Posted in General

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been feeling a little less than spectacular lately, but your assertion that I am Time’s Person of the Year (as well as going to the link you so graciously provided in order ot have it confirmed by the media giant itself) give me enough pomposity and arrogance to last me at least until the new year (or the next time I talk to some of the folks back at Canaan Hill).

    Ralph

    December 22, 2006 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

