QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Reading Aloud

with 2 comments

For some strange reason, my wife doesn’t like to read. Now, we shouldn’t take this to mean that she’s lazy, or that her reading skills are poor. She can read quite well—stick a book on child education in front of her and she’ll devour the thing in a matter of hours. Really.

She just doesn’t like to read most fiction. Which means, sadly, that she has not read any of the Harry Potter novels (she’s just seen the movies), and makes one less person with whom I can share my enthusiasm for the books.

However, she does enjoy my reading to her.

We’re about 100 or so pages into Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, and she loves it. So do I, actually. Reading the narrative out loud has helped me reconnect in a way with the narrative. It’s like reading it again for the first time.

Have you ever tried watching a movie with the sound off? I know, only us true geeks would ever attempt something like that, but try it and you’ll notice some things you never quite picked up on before (Star Wars is a good example of this). Reading OOTP out loud has created a similar reading experience.

I guess this is what it’s like for most other men who try to get their wives to like football (my wife already does…now I just have to get her turned on to basketball). My hope is to gently coax a love for good books out of her. I’ve got loads of great stories she can read sitting on my shelf, and I’d love to have her to talk with about them.

But I’m in no rush—I’m just enjoying this ride. She can take her time. I’m just happy she lets me share my enthusiam regardless.

Written by taj

January 5, 2007 at 1:30 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, you should do that with your own works too (whether reading it to your wife or just to yourself). You can spot amazingly bad prose much easier that way. One can only wish Dan Brown had heard of doing such a thing….

    CalvinDude

    January 5, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  2. Dan Brown should have read his “research” aloud first, to people who might not agree with him.

    I don’t know what I’d do if Gina and I didn’t have so many similar interests. We enjoy the same things to different degrees, like she’s not quite as into Star Wars as I am, and I just don’t get turned on by HGTV and TLC quite as much as she does, but we both enjoy those things together.

    Reading books together like that sounds like a great idea! Maybe I can get her turned on to “Dark Tower” that way.

    Lord Vertigo

    January 9, 2007 at 1:06 pm


Leave a Reply

