QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

A Word on Editing

leave a comment »

Writing well means learning where to trim the fat.  One book I read calls this “turkey-carcass” writing, meaning that after the editor gets done with this delicious looking material you’ve just cooked up, all that’s left to print is…well, you get the idea. 

On that note…

I was told to get my latest writing assignment for work in under 500 words.  I turned in an early draft that fell somwhere around 450 and waited for the editor to get back to me with his notes. 

Meanwhile, I went on developing the story, and eventually finished a draft at 499 words. 

I got the notes and set out to make the changes and include those facets the editor requested, and soon found the piece measuring a little over 550 words.  Now, I couldn’t really drop any of the actual content, so I had to find a way to trim my word count without actually affecting the story. 

The draft I turned in today came in right at 500 – more material than the previous draft, and only one more word than before. 

I don’t think I ever understood the concept of what it means to find the “right word” until I made those cuts. 

Anyway, no real rhyme or reason to this; just felt like sharing.  Good night. 

Written by taj

January 11, 2007 at 11:05 pm

Posted in General, Writing

Leave a Reply

