QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

I ask again, how’s that novel coming?

leave a comment »

The short answer is: it’s not.  Now here’s why.

What I had once dreamed of turning into a novel has become a much shorter effort examining how a young man sheds his youthful dependencies and becomes a whole person.  I had originally intended to weave this transition throughout a dense moral thriller (an idea that looks great on paper, but daunting and just a tad boring in its execution). 

In the 20,000 words I have already written, however, I’ve realized that my character has already completed that arc.  Hard to continue the story when you’re finished developing your protagonist by the end of the first act, you know? 

I do not believe that stories are created so much as they are excavated, and the narrative I’ve unearthed is already as whole and complete as its probably ever going to get.  I may go back revisit the plot elements I’m discarding, but for now, I feel compelled to drop them, and have no qualms about allowing them to fall into oblivion. 

I’ve labored close to eighteen months on this story (close to ten years if we were to track this effort from conception).  I’m tired of the idea, and it’s time to move on.  There’s too many other stories I would like to tell to let this one dominate so much of my effort. 

So, CalvinDude, you’re now in the position to win our little wager.  That is unless I am suddenly inspired to an idea so grand…well, we’ll see. 

Written by taj

February 5, 2007 at 6:10 pm

Posted in General, stories, Writing

Leave a Reply

