QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

More Pressing Matters

leave a comment »

I remember soon after Katrina hit hearing experts saying that this was only the beginning. And then, something truly baffling happened. One of the worst hurricane seasons on record was followed by one of the mildest.

Now we hear once again that global warming looms. The doomsday clock has inched closer to midnight (due partially by the threat of climate change), and I know of at least one senator who’s declared that the environmental dangers posed by our over reliance on fossil fuels pose a greater danger to the fate of the world than international terrorism.

Yet it’s snowed every weekend for the last seven or eight weeks here in Colorado. And more than a hundred people died in Baghdad over the weekend.

I don’t mean to make light of anything that threatens the fate of global civilization. Coastal flooding caused by the melting of the polar ice caps is something over which I could lose a certain amount of sleep. If I bought the premise, that is. Which I don’t. Because there are those who disagree and so long as there are qualified people out there willing to step up and say something like this…

I was as opposed to the threats of impending doom global cooling engendered as I am to the threats made about Global Warming. Let me stress I am not denying the phenomenon has occurred. The world has warmed since 1680, the nadir of a cool period called the Little Ice Age (LIA) that has generally continued to the present. These climate changes are well within natural variability and explained quite easily by changes in the sun. But there is nothing unusual going on.

Since I obtained my doctorate in climatology from the University of London, Queen Mary College, England my career has spanned two climate cycles. Temperatures declined from 1940 to 1980 and in the early 1970’s global cooling became the consensus. This proves that consensus is not a scientific fact. By the 1990’s temperatures appeared to have reversed and Global Warming became the consensus. It appears I’ll witness another cycle before retiring, as the major mechanisms and the global temperature trends now indicate a cooling.

…I think I’ll devote my concern to more pressing matters. Like raising my son. Oh, I’ll teach him how to recycle. And I hope to encourage him to think as well; to listen to all sides. Because not everyone sees doom in the same places.

There were those fundementalists in the 90s who had come to a consensus that Saddam Hussein might bring about armageddon, you know.

H/T: The Point

Written by taj

February 5, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

