QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Things to Come

with 2 comments

UPDATE 2.7.07 – Well, I wasn’t able to see the movie.   Long story.  But life goes on, you live and you learn and, well, you get the idea.  Suffice it to say that going to the theater just isn’t what it used to be. 

Mayhap it never was.       

***

I have not missed the fact that the final chapter of the Harry Potter saga will be released July 21st; I’ve just been deluged with other things.  And I am writing a post that mentions the release, as well a little bet I have going with my former employer.  Well, not a bet, really.  She’s probably forgotten that we even had that conversation, but…well, more on that later. 

I’ve scored a preview screening to The Astronaut Farmer tonight, and I’m bringing my legal pad with me. When I go to movies with the intent of writing about what I see later, I usually kick myself for not bringing along something on which to record my thoughts.  If I’m serious about ever writing reviews for pay, I ought to get serious about the writing first.  It’s still an aspiration that tickles my ambition every now and then.  So hopefully you’ll get to read about that too.  

Also, Reel Witness, the movie small group, is set to start at my local church this week.  I’m excited to get something like this going, to get a group together and begin looking at the creative art of film as something that points to the creative work of God.  There’s a lot to unpack, and as we discuss the implications of faith on film, I’ll be sharing those here as well. 

Written by taj

February 6, 2007 at 11:10 am

Posted in Books, General, Movies, Writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. know this is a long shot, but I respect your writing and would love to see if you would particpate in this silly tag game:

    The rules are:
    “Each player of this game starts with the 6 weird things about you. People who get tagged need to write a blog of their own 6 weird things as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose 6 people to be tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave a comment that says you are tagged in their comments and tell them to read your blog.”

    I look forward to seeing your responses…

    Read my posts here:
    http://neophytepundit.townhall.com/g/1fafc9c7-0a2e-4ae9-9e3c-3a54b96a53d4

    Neophyte Pundit

    February 9, 2007 at 9:25 am

  2. Not sure my link will work for anyone not registered as my contact, so here’s a copy of my list.

    1. Once a proud New Kids on the Block fan. Jon Knight was my favorite, but I never “liked” him, if you know what I mean. I just thought his hair was cool, and he was sort of the guy in the background who seemed too cool to need attention.

    2. While asleep, I stood at the foot of my cousin’s bed and peed on his leg. When finished, and while still asleep, I crawled into bed with my other cousin and my sister.

    3. Squatted down in the middle of a busy street (it wasn’t busy in the middle of the night), then when stopped by the police, I pulled a bowie knife out of my jacket pocket and handed it to them. When I pulled it out, the cop’s hand reflexively went to the gun on his hip.

    4. There is documented photographic evidence, which I’m sure my sister would be happy to reproduce (but if she does, I will skip classes for the next two days to drive home, kidnap her, and tie her up in a very dark place underneath the mansion), of me actually wearing a dress. Trust me, it was a joke. Sarah and I are both laughing in the picture, all right?

    5. Scott remembers it a bit different than I do, but I used to love singing along with my rock albums. I’d do this in the dorm at a time of day when I was sure I’d be alone for a couple of hours. The thought of anyone catching me doing this was mortifying. Scott, my roommate at the time, walked in unexpectedly while I was really hamming it up to a Stryper song. What I was doing when he walked in is a subject of debate between us every time the story is mentioned, and it’s mentioned far more often than I’d like.

    6. Well, with five tremendous self-delivered blows against any positive image you’ve ever had of me, I have to close with something weird that actually is pretty cool. Gina’s always known I’m a huge U2 fan. Shoot, everybody knows that. What you don’t know is that once she had a dream about Bono (what girl hasn’t at some point in U2’s career?). In the dream, which she ought to blog about in full, she got to meet Bono and wanted to get his autograph for me. When Bono asked who it was for, Gina said, “My boyfriend, Andrew.” And Bono said, “LET THERE BE LIGHT!” Just kidding. No, Bono really said, “Andrew … Andrew Pottenger? He is such a god!” You know … like a rock’n’roll god, like I was Bono’s idol or something …. not that he thought I was … sheesh, never mind. The point is, at least in someone’s dream world, Bono worships me.

    Lord Vertigo

    February 14, 2007 at 8:30 pm


Leave a Reply

