QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

I’ve been tagged

with 6 comments

By tagged, I mean that someone, somewhere, found in their creativity the compulsion to make a thing vaguely similar to chain mail—this one having to do with listing six weird things about one’s self.  After passing through an untold number of bloggers, it has finally reached me by way of the Neophyte Pundit.  And while there’s a part of me that saw my being tagged as merely humorous, there was that tiny voice way down deep in the subaudible that proudly squeaked, “I am somebody!”

Seriously, these things detract from the monotony when get to I read them elsewhere, so I’m happy to participate for a change.  Here, then, are the “rules” which state that I am required to let you see before going on…

“Each player of this game starts with the 6 weird things about you. People who get tagged need to write a blog of their own 6 weird things as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose 6 people to be tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave a comment that says you are tagged in their comments and tell them to read your blog.”

Now, on to the list…

One: I own the Thriller album from Michael Jackson.  And I like it.  If you think that’s just too strange, you really ought to scan the shelf at my father-in-law’s place.  He owns a copy of the video. 

Two: I know how to moonwalk. 

These will no long feature anything to do with Michael Jackson.  Promise. 

Three:   I met Richard Simmons once, and he made me cry.  (I was four years old, gimmie a break.)

Four: I try to watch Jaws every Thanksgiving.  It’s one of my favorite movies and remains one of Spielberg’s best.  And what better time to watch a movie about something that lives to swims, and eats, and makes little baby sharks than that one day out of the year when we have the most in common?  Yeah, I know; sharks don’t watch football.  Get over it. 

Five: I once arranged all the movies in my collection alphabetically by director.  From memory.  I did not have to look at the back cover for any of them.   I only had about 14 or 15 films on the shelf at the time, but still, it is a little strange. 

Six:  I have to think of something really good to finish this off…I could say that put peanut butter in my oatmeal, but that isn’t near the level of weird this calls for.  Hmm…I can give a pretty good recitation of Jack Nicholson’s speech at the end of A Few Good Men.  The only time this has ever been a hit at a party was during the Thanksgiving I had asked my wife to marry me.  We were having dinner with a family in Idaho, and visiting was a close friend of the family from the Air Force.  He and I regaled those gathered at the table with our nerdiness by delivering the speech in unison.  It was the first and only time I’ve been able to do so in front of my wife without receiving a blow to ribs from her elbow. 

Now comes the part of the show where the rules dictate that I am to pass this along to six others.  OK…I know you all live very busy lives, so if this comes and an inconvenience, annoyance, or both, please forgive me.

My good friend Darth Vertigo
Me papa, the Gelatin Guerrilla
Julie at Observations from the Roof of a Building
The Dude himself at CalvinDude
The man who shares my name; Travis at Restless Reformer

Thanks for following me down amnesia lane.

Written by taj

February 9, 2007 at 5:02 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I pretty much stopped reading after, “I own the Thriller album from Michael Jackson…”

    You are a sick, sick man, Travonius Rex.

    CalvinDude

    February 9, 2007 at 5:10 pm

  2. Tagging wasn’t so bad, but I too almost stopped reading after the Thriller comment, but it is kind of like a car wreck, you just go to keep looking!!!

    Neophyte Pundit

    February 9, 2007 at 5:48 pm

  3. […] right, Travis got me. Now I’m […]

  4. Hey! Found your comment at RR. I like the new look here, by the way (I do stop in here sometimes). I’ll fill this thing out later today when I’ve got some time.

    Travis Prinzi

    February 11, 2007 at 7:49 am

  5. As far as Richard Simmons goes, he is so frightening he can make grown ups cry!

    mike

    February 15, 2007 at 9:33 pm

  6. […] been tagged by this guy who has a really strong, excellent name.  Since he has such a really cool, noble-sounding, […]


Leave a Reply

