QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Decaffeinated

with 2 comments

When you live addicted to caffeine, you learn some practical uses for it other than the energy high, like staying up till 3am to finish that paper for college, or treating a headache.  Well, last Thursday, plagued by a bad one (headache, that is), I took some Tylenol and downed it with twelve ounces of Coke.  The headache got worse. 

I went to bed and tried to sleep it off, and the headache returned.  A cup of coffee later that next day only added to the pain.  Ol’ reliable acetaminophen wasn’t helping, so I have done that one thing that seemed the most prudent to kill this pain. 

I have quit caffeine.  Again. 

When I was addicted to caffeine before, I drank an average of four cans of Mountain Dew a day.  On average, mind you—many days it went as high as six.  And then there was that one night at Red Robin…

Anyway, I kicked the habit with relative ease then.  I took four weeks and weaned myself off a can at a time.  I didn’t even experience withdrawal.  This time, however, whether withdrawal caused the first onset of headaches or not, I’m going full on cold turkey.  If caffeine only aggravated the problem, I think I’ll just endure the pain long enough to flush my system.  As of now, the pain has just about subsided.  So wish me luck—I’m almost clear… 

Written by taj

February 14, 2007 at 12:56 pm

Posted in General

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Quit caffeine?!

    Are you sure you didn’t get a tumor?

    (Actually, seriously, if you are addicted, then you ought to quit; I will pray for you…even though you like Thriller.)

    CalvinDude

    February 14, 2007 at 8:32 pm

  2. I’ll pray for you BECAUSE you like Thriller. I may just happen to mention your headaches to Him while I’m at it.

    Whenever I’ve had too much caffeine, my skin ripples with muscle, bursting my clothing, and turns green all over. “Don’t make me caffeinated. You wouldn’t like me when I’m caffeinated.”

    Lord Vertigo

    February 15, 2007 at 9:46 am


Leave a Reply

