QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Congress, on Ice

with 2 comments

I do not understand the sentiment of supporting the troops and not the war.  To me it feels like saying you support the Redskins, but you hope they lose on Sunday.  Offering support connotes the achievement of a shared objective, right?  But then you have those who feel compelled to ask you what you mean by “objective,” and by then, the argument has become a contest so steeped in semantics that the real struggle gets lost in a volley of mere words. 

Another chapter in this contest finds closure today in the passing of yet another bill requiring the withdrawal of all US troops from Iraq in six months’ time.  And Bush has already promised to veto.  Pretty soon someone will need to dig up what Einstein said about insanity. 

My particular hang up here is the complete disregard for common sense.  The House knew going into this that they lacked the votes to overturn a presidential veto.  Which compels me to ask why they wasted their time drafting legislation they knew would never make it past the Oval Office. 

In two hundred years, we’ve gone from “give me liberty, or give me death” to “give me what I want or I’ll give you red tape.”  Partisan politics isn’t the problem here.  It’s selfishness.  It’s greed.  And it’s turning into a farce. 

Written by taj

April 26, 2007 at 4:39 pm

Posted in Politics, Questions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I fully agree. But you know that the reason that they sent up the bill that they knew would be vetoed, because they wanted later to be able to say, “yeah, well, I know it continued on, but I voted for a certain timetable to withdraw the troops, and, well, that Republican president, he vetoed it.” This bs ranks right up there with (Yes, I voted for it, but then I didn’t vote for it.) And Hillary’s latest thing: “If I had known then what I know now, I wouldn’t have voted for it!” Well, when you’re the president, you don’t always get to make decisions with all the information available. Oh well! Good article, by the way.

    I would really appreciate your comment on my Monday Morning Quarterbacking blog.

    gelatinguerrilla

    April 27, 2007 at 8:26 pm

  2. Well, shoot, Travis … they support your right to speak out and dissent – as long as you agree with them. What more do you want? Heh, heh.

    Lord Vertigo

    April 28, 2007 at 3:14 pm


Leave a Reply

