QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Introducing “Smash Cuts”

with 3 comments

I want to try and get into writing movie reviews again.  They’re only going to run three or four paragraphs for now—I have a hard time getting a review to read the way I want it to read, so I am starting small. 

On a whim, I decided I needed a way to diversify the posts, and since “Short Cuts” was already taken, “Smash Cuts”—which refers to a marker used in screenplays to dictate an abrupt transition—stepped in to fill the need.  As near as I can tell after a quick run through Google, no one’s copyrighted the name for a similar purpose.  Maybe I’ll sell a column. 

Really, it’s something to satisfy the need to write and improve on the craft and be a geek at the same time.  I’ll have one posted shortly.  Feel free to provide feedback.   

Written by taj

May 9, 2007 at 4:15 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, which movie are you doing first? I’m the sort to watch a movie “for the masses.” I tend to think those are better anyway. Here’s some reviews I’d like to read sometime.

    Harry Potter 5 (I’m sure you’ll have a great one on this)
    Spiderman 3 (Lucas says it’s silly, and I must strongly disagree)
    The Departed
    28 Weeks Later
    Fantastic Four 2 – Rise of the Silver Surfer
    Pirates 3

    Unfortunate that these are sequels, except for the Departed – which I’ve heard is a re-make.

    Andrew

    May 10, 2007 at 5:58 am

  2. I’m going to post a review of Spidey 3, hopefully by this evening. Like I said, I have hard time writing these things. You’d think I would find it easier…

    I like movies.
    I like to write.
    Ergo, I should write movie reviews.

    And still I sweat blood trying to get one down on paper.

    Considering George Lucas…when you’ve made a billion dollars by virtually riding on the coat tales of more capable talents, particularly where the writing is concerned, it earns you a small amount of authority. But I don’t think someone responsible for Jar Jar Binks has room to comment on what makes something silly.

    taj

    May 10, 2007 at 7:41 am

  3. Oh, man, you are NOT joking. The very idea of George Lucas calling a film silly is itself …. silly. You would think he’d be a little more sensitive since people accuse him of making silly movies all the time. He laughed all the way to the bank, and I’m sure those involved with the Spiderman movies have been doing the same.

    Andrew

    May 12, 2007 at 3:44 pm


Leave a Reply

