QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Four Weeks In

with 5 comments

Four weeks into fatherhood, I have some observations.  I like fatherhood.  Right now, it’s relatively simple—he doesn’t ask me to borrow the car, and since he cannot reach the sink yet, I have not asked him to do the dishes, so he doesn’t complain a lot.  We feed him, change his diaper, talk to him, soothe him, and let him sleep. 

The complexities crop up in a parent’s effort to sooth their newborn.  Babies cry, you know, and they can cry for a long time.  Their stamina is amazing.

So far, the little one has done all right.  He hasn’t had a crying spell last longer than about 45 minutes, with the one exception of about an hour and a half earlier this week.  I’m told that’s terrific.  What bothers me is the plethora of advice and supposed causes of his restlessness my wife and I have received and heard. 

The last few hundred years have seen advances in pain medication and the treatment of infection.  We’ve wiped out smallpox and turned the common cold into a nuisance. 

You would think, after thousands of years of parents raising children, that someone would have learned a definitive cause and a possible solution to something like colic.  But, alas, colic is still a mystery.  In fact, we have just learned, in the last twenty years or so, that crying really does nothing to help the baby’s lungs develop. 

Just imagine what we’ll learn tomorrow. 

Written by taj

June 8, 2007 at 9:57 am

Posted in Baby News

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Forgive me sounding like a complete idiot, but exactly what IS colic?

    Andrew

    June 8, 2007 at 11:56 am

  2. My daughter suffered with it and cried for an entire night without stopping. I agree with you Travis, by now we should have found a cure for this annoying ailment in babies. All I have ever heard is it is basically a sour stomach. By the 3rd hour I was tempted to give my daughter a crushed up TUMS and tell her to get over it, but alas my wife stopped me. I guess that is why God designed us with two parents so that one of us is usually sensible.

    Mike

    June 8, 2007 at 10:17 pm

  3. Andrew – my point exactly; no one really knows! 😉

    Mike nailed it as close as anyone can. Supposedly, colic is a sour stomach, and any nurse will tell you that it really could be anything. All we were told for certain is that a colic baby is a hurting baby.

    Colic is basically described as any baby that cries for three straight hours or more without stopping, three times a day over three weeks.

    taj

    June 9, 2007 at 8:57 am

  4. Thanks for the clarification. I always thought it was a really nasty case of hiccups or something.

    Andrew

    June 9, 2007 at 10:50 am

  5. Though older, I certainly am no wiser than those who have previously commented. However, I will speak to the one child with which I am most familiar (and you know who you are), if you place the baby’s bare stomach against your bare stomach and tickle on their back, oftentimes they will have some relief from colic.

    Ralph

    June 28, 2007 at 5:37 am


Leave a Reply

