QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Summer Reading

with 4 comments

Over the next few months, I want to try and get a good taste of decent fantasy literature.  Like any genre, I’m sure, fantasy has its true staples, and then it has its rip offs.  Here are the titles I have in mind…

The Drawing of the Three: The Dark Tower II – Andrew, I am finally going to read this.  I have to confess, while parts of The Gunslinger intrigued me, I found it hard to get through.  Though you told me once before, I believe, that it’s the weakest volume.  I enjoyed the bits about Roland’s past and I am eager to learn more. 

The Sword of Shannara – I have never read Terry Brooks.  I did read his introduction to one of the reprints of this volume, and his ideas intrigued me enough to at least put it on hold at the library.   

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Like this surprises anyone.  Though the literary world has yet to take a serious look at Rowling’s work, the next ten years or so ought to establish her credibility as a writer.  She’s already proven her ability to sustain a vast and deeply variegated universe.  Rowling draws much of her inspiration from Jane Austen, which to me seems like an odd author to emulate when you’re writing fantasy.  But she makes it work.  Besides, her talent speaks for itself. 

I am open to suggestions, by the way.  If anyone has a title they think would be good for me to read, please, drop a note in the comments. 

Written by taj

June 22, 2007 at 2:34 pm

Posted in Books, stories

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never read the Shanarra books, either. I’ve got the three original books in one volume, but haven’t cracked it open yet. Let me know what you think of that one.

    Andrew

    June 23, 2007 at 4:02 pm

  2. Hmm … not sure how to go back and edit my comments. I was going to add, if you’re looking for other good titles, that I would highly suggest “The Eyes of God,” “The Devil’s Armor,” and “Sword of Angels” by John Marco. http://www.sffworld.com/author/345.html

    Andrew

    June 23, 2007 at 4:12 pm

  3. Travis, I picked up Ender’s Game yesterday. I am about eight chapters in, and am totally hooked. I described it to Gina as a hybrid of Harry Potter, Star Wars, and 24.

    Andrew

    June 25, 2007 at 7:55 am

  4. FWIW, IMNSHO, abbreviations are overrated.

    That aside, Terry Brooks is great. It’s like Tolkein-lite. The first Shanarra series is great (although to correct Andrew above, Brooks now has four books in it–a Prequel written well after the original trilogy). I actually started with the Scions of Shanarra series, and I enjoyed both. You might also like his Magic Kingdom For Sale-Sold! series (Magic Kingdom has no relation to Disney…) 😛

    Other than that…well, I haven’t read any of Brooks’ new works since around the year 2000. I should get back into that. But I cannot, and for this I blame Bush.

    CalvinDude

    June 26, 2007 at 9:15 am


Leave a Reply

