QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Damon is Kirk

with 3 comments

There was a day when Star Trek was a genuine phenomenon. Some time in the early 90s, things started to shift, and today, Gene Roddenberry’s wagon-train-to-the-stars is a joke SNL doesn’t even bother to touch. 

As a relapsed Trekker, I carry fond memories of the franchise’s days of popularity.  I was much younger then, had not read as many books, and used to think Star Trek constituted quality storytelling.  Looking back, I can see glimmers of talent and promise that are, sadly, anomalies spread across a grand vision that, once it became clichéd, never received a revival. 

I used to hope that Paramount (who owns the property) would sit on the franchise for a few years (ten always struck me as a good number) before giving it a good rebuff, not unlike the second incarnation of Battlestar Galactica—a reimagination far superior to its predecessor.  Or, perhaps, maybe they would simply let the franchise go and move on to something original. 

Pretty soon I learned that J.J. Abrams (creator of Alias and co-creator of Lost) had been tapped to return the Enterprise to the stars.  Aside from the petty jokes I threw at the news, I took a casual interest, and secretly hoped the effort would die just like the many attempts to return Superman to the screen.  But, now that Abrams has found his leading man, things look to be moving forward.

Matt Damon will assume the role of James T. Kirk in what looks to be a retelling of the original five-year mission. 

Damon is a solid talent.  I would like to hope he can bring a sense of heroic aura back to Kirk before the character turned into a Jim Carrey bit.  But, alas, I am a cynic.  Once you have your heart broken enough times, you just stop expecting the best, and Star Trek has landed a string of disappointments over the years.   

Abrams is a capable storyteller, but his ability behind the camera has yet to show real promise.  His turn at the helm of M:I:3 delivered a decent film, but, aside from the bridge scene, offered little in terms of originality.  According to the article cited, he’s hoping to land Adrien Brody and Gary Sinise to portray Spock and Dr. McCoy respectively, which could lend even more fuel to the project’s hopeful success.   For the time being, however, I refuse to let enthusiasm get the better of me.  Don’t try to dazzle me, Abrams, just give me a good story and I’ll show up to pay for a ticket. 

HT: Libertas

Written by taj

July 3, 2007 at 10:37 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hollywood, I think, WANTS to drive the last nail into Star Trek’s coffin and they’re going to put out this film to make sure it happens.

    Matt Damon as Kirk? Who are they casting as Uhura? Will Smith? Leonardo DiCaprio as Chekhov? I wonder if they’ll tap Kevin Costner to play Khan?

    Give me a break. Let Star Trek sleep peacefully for a few years. This movie is going to kill it for good.

    Andrew

    July 3, 2007 at 12:24 pm

  2. This just points to the fact that Hollywood cannot come up with anything original anymore. They have to drudge up something that worked 40 years ago and hope it sells. Let Star Trek remain a happy memory from a happier time, and let it R.I.P.

    Mike

    July 3, 2007 at 7:02 pm

  3. That’s it exactly, Mike. Travis, finish a screenplay! Haha! Actually, you and my sister should get together and co-write something.

    I have to admit, however, that I can actually see Gary Sinise as Dr. McCoy. But that’s still no excuse.

    Andrew

    July 4, 2007 at 9:47 am


Leave a Reply

