QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Awaiting the Saturday Delivery of Deathly Hallows

with 5 comments

6:00  – There is a way in which we might at look at this so that I might not appear so much like an idiot, and as soon as some one sees it, please let me know.

The truth is, I was duped.  For when I stepped out and checked the mailbox, there sat in the hollow a white, cardboard laden package.  The book had arrived by none other than those couriers whose rounds will not be impeded by rain, nor sleet, nor rumor of a UPS delivery.  No, UPS had not delivered the book.  The USPS had. 

So I have my book, I have read the first chapter, and I leave now to go and read more.  Before I do, let me just say that…you know, there really is no way to salvage my dignity at this moment.  See you on the other side…

***

5:45, still nothing.  The laundry is folded and put away, another is currently making its way through the spin cycle.  The door bell rang just a moment ago.  And with a heart full of anticipation I opened the door and saw…something that was definitely not UPS. 

Five eleven-year-old girls stood on my porch.  They were doing a little scavenger hunt and they read me a list of the things they still needed to find.  Luckily, I was able to procure for them one item—a blue hair tie.  They also needed red string.  I offered them a red pipe cleaner, but they passed. 

They went away smiling.  Me?  I’m still here, blogging about nonsense when I could be reading…

***

Well, it’s 4:30.  UPS has still not arrived.  The dishes are currently in the washer’s first rinse cycle, and I am folding laundry.  Just to brag on myself a moment: I can fold a fitted sheet.  

(sigh)  

This is worse than watching paint dry.  I know—it is likely for some people to think, from a certain point of view, that I am only torturing myself with this lame little exercise.  And I am okay with that.  Not that doing this affords me any special merit; it just gives me SOMETHING TO DO!  Other than chores.  The completion of which I am sure makes my wife very happy.  It’s just that I could be reading now. 
 

***

It is about 3:30 here in the mountain time zone.  Amazon.com told me they would (try to) deliver Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows to my door on this very day.  And it has not arrived. 

I have had my doubts about this since the beginning, wondering if this really was the more practical decision in regards to purchasing the book.  I’ve been to two retailers today, both of whom had it on sale and on display, and were in no danger of selling out.  I could be reading the book right now.  Instead, I am here, washing dishes and waiting for UPS. 

So, I have decided that I will keep a log on this here blog, if for no other reason than I am a geek, and that I can. 

Written by taj

July 21, 2007 at 3:32 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Man, I’m just evil. I bounced over to your website to see if you posted any spoilers. My curiosity knows no bounds. Or morals. Haha!

    Gina and I have followed your example of reading Harry Potter out loud to each other before bed. We’re about nine or ten chapters into book 6 where Harry has just been given the textbook belonging to the Half-Blood Prince. I’ve read this one before, but Gina’s totally new to it.

    It’s an exercise in patience waiting while we get through this sixth one together, so we can enjoy the surprises and resolutions of the seventh book.

    Andrew

    July 23, 2007 at 2:50 pm

  2. “There is a way in which we might at look at this so that I might not appear so much like an idiot, and as soon as some one sees it, please let me know.”

    I’ve been thinking for days. And…

    Well…

    The only thing I can think of is…….

    At least you’re smarter than Lindsay Lohan.

    CalvinDude

    July 24, 2007 at 10:53 am

  3. True CalvinDude, however most anyone is smarter than Lindsay Lohan!

    Mike

    July 24, 2007 at 10:27 pm

  4. Yes, I suppose this would be one of those backhanded insults disguised as a compliment.

    I could so work for CBS.

    CalvinDude

    July 25, 2007 at 4:12 pm

  5. You have nothing whatsoever in common with Lindsay Lohan And it is true that CalvinDude could freelance for CBS (or any of the other drive-bys).

    However, before you chastise the rain, sleet, and snow guys, remember this: in some off handed, twist of fate kind of way, you owe very existence to those fine individuals, descendants of the Pony Express. Were it not for the insurance that I was able to procur from them, you, sir, would likely have been but the proverbial twinkle. Plus the Ponies helped to support you in the lifestyle to which you were accustomed for a number of years.

    Just a little perspective…

    Now return to your reading

    Ralph

    July 26, 2007 at 4:12 pm


Leave a Reply

