QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Working with Women

leave a comment »

Update: What I wrote below was passed around to a few people at work.  A lady in another department responded:

“That’s not even the half of say a pair of Donatella Versace jeans! Just wait until his son wants only Abercrombie denim.”

Thankfully that day is at least ten years away.  But who knows; I heard somewhere about an elementary school where the nine-year-olds carry cell phones.  

***

I am one of three people who make up my department at work.  The other two are women.  Over the years, I have served time in similar situations, most notably the three years I spent working as a telemarketer.  And I have concluded that the level of conversation between women really does belong on another planet.   Their world is far removed from mine, at least.  For instance, I refuse to pay $150 for a pair of jeans.  I was shocked to learn that denim even sold for such a price, but who am I kidding, right?  I mean, when Starbucks can raise the price of its coffee and blame the hike on the cost of milk (give me a break) I suppose it isn’t that much of a stretch to believe people will hand over $150 for A PAIR OF JEANS. 

Written by taj

August 2, 2007 at 11:08 am

Posted in Life, Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

