QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Radio Woes

with 6 comments

***BEGIN RANT***

There isn’t enough variety on the radio. 

I know I am not the first to complain about this.  I won’t be the last, either.  I probably shouldn’t even waste my time writing about such a tired and universal subject, but while the majority of civilization already has an iPod, there is a small pocket of humanity, of whom I am a member, who has yet to plug in.  I depend on my radio to get me through those endless, dreary summer hours of the work day. 

The wisdom that goes into creating a daily playlist eludes me.   Perhaps it is something one picks up earning that degree in broadcasting.  Whatever it is, I can’t see it; not unless it means taking the previous day’s playlist and just shuffling the cuts. 

Decent singles that seem to live in the top 40 forever disappear while cuts from artists long since retired get a spin at least thrice a day.  I once considered purchasing the “Best of Hootie and the Blowfish” until I realized I could hear their music any time I wanted.  I just turn on the radio and wait a few minutes.  And I don’t have to pay $11.50, which is even better.  Writers don’t make a whole lot of money, you know. 

Then there are the more contemporary talents that get played every hour—like Gwen Stefani—while greater, more established talents are ignored.  It with no small measure of shame that I admit I can actually recite some of the lyrics to “The Sweet Escape.”  But to enjoy U2, I have to pop in a CD.  Although Will Smith is still getting some play out here in the Rockies. 

Sheesh. 

***END OF RANT***

Written by taj

August 24, 2007 at 3:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. See, your problem is you don’t listen to the right radio station. If you listened to good music, then you could complain about how all they play is Godsmack or Korn or Shinedown when ALL YOU WANT TO HEAR IS DISTURBED!!!!

    Then I’d be better able to rant with you. But Hootie? C’mon, man! Dignity! >:-D

    CalvinDude

    August 25, 2007 at 11:06 pm

  2. If you want to hear U2, dude, I can sing to you over the phone. I am a human U2 catalog.

    Andrew

    August 29, 2007 at 1:55 pm

  3. Thanks Andrew. But as much as I want to hear U2, and while I appreciate the gesture, I am not quite ready to have you sing it to me over the phone. 😉

    taj

    August 29, 2007 at 2:17 pm

  4. Which U2 do you like, the 80’s stuff, the 90’s stuff or the new stuff? Just out of curiosity.

    Andrew

    August 31, 2007 at 12:23 pm

  5. I like a little of everything U2, actually. My favorite song is “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For.” Some of their stuff I like more than others, for instance, I think cuts like “New Years Day” are forgettable, but I love “Beautiful Day,” “One,” “Where the Streets Have No Name,” “Vertigo,” and on and on and on.

    taj

    August 31, 2007 at 12:42 pm

  6. I agree. “New Year’s Day” is overplayed.

    Andrew

    August 31, 2007 at 2:53 pm


Leave a Reply

