QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Published!

with 2 comments

More than a year ago, I wrote out a story for a magazine called Standard—a weekly collection of short inspirational stories put out by the Nazarene Publishing House—and submitted it for publication. 

Whenever I mail out a manuscript (which doesn’t happen as often as it should), I am filled with excitement for about a week before I settle into this calm patience.  I didn’t hear anything for six months, so just I chalked it up to rejection.  Publishers are not required to send you a rejection letter when you’re just a freelancer peddling your own work. 

I stepped in the door last night, and my wife pointed to this wrapped parcel on the ottoman.  “Open it,” she said. 

I tore away the paper and saw that, whatever it was, it was framed.  Maybe my wife had blown up a picture of the baby, I wondered.  If so, it was going to be a big portrait.  I turned it over, and saw she had framed a letter. 

The first line delivered the news that the editors of Standard had accepted the piece.  14 months after it was written. I held the frame in my hand like an exited child for probably half an hour before I mustered the courage to put it back down. 

This is the first fictional piece anyone has ever accepted.  The story will appear in print next summer.

Written by taj

August 30, 2007 at 6:13 pm

Posted in stories, Writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, congratulations! I can’t wait to see a copy with your name in print!

    Andrew

    August 31, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  2. *w00t*!!!!11!!!1!

    CalvinDude

    August 31, 2007 at 3:33 pm


Leave a Reply

