QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Anticipating “I Am Legend”

leave a comment »

The premise had me a long time ago (and I still need to go and read the book), but this vague little summary hints there’s a better film here than just another Will Smith actioner.

Quick aside–the post references Alfonzo Cuaron’s Children of Men, another film with an intriguing premise, and a screen adaptation of a book I actually have read. Many Christian critics despised the movie for its alteration of the source material’s prevalent themes. I’d still like to see what Cuaron did with it myself.

I’m not sure what it is about apocalyptic stories that draw me in. Legend, in concept, resembles 28 Days Later, another riff on the zombie genre, one that works hard to break the formulas of the works that inspired it. Maybe Legend will do the same.

HT: Looking Closer

Written by taj

December 4, 2007 at 8:56 am

Posted in Movies, stories, Writing

Leave a Reply

