QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

How I got the wife to watch The Doctor

with one comment

I’ve been trying to get Charis to sit down and watch Doctor Who ever since a friend loaned me Series Three.  She’s been less than enthusiastic.  So, building on the idea that marriage is compromise, when she asked me to watch the premiere of The Bachelor last night, I saw an opening.  And I took it.

I promised her I’d watch The Bachelor if she’d give the Doctor a chance. 

She screwed her face up in that look that says she knows she’s been defeated, and she caved a few moments later. 

Last night, I endured all 90 minutes of that shallow and insipid vision of romance, and by the end of the ordeal, Charis was just as disgusted as I was.  So you could say that two good things came out of this—Charis will have to watch Doctor Who (a deal’s a deal, after all), and I’ll never have to watch The Bachelor again. 

Score.  

Written by taj

March 18, 2008 at 8:50 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL oo come on you know it gave you lots of ideas of what not to put into your writing. However the best part is it gives you the chance to make a Doctor Who fan of your wife!
    Season 4 starts the 18th of April last I heard by the way!

    ambri

    March 18, 2008 at 11:09 am


Leave a Reply

