QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

I have a habit of opening doors all by myself

with one comment

You’ve heard the phrase — Boy, I walked right in to that one. And one of the better retorts I’ve heard runs something like, well I left the door wide open for you. I have a habit of opening doors all by myself. Just ask the guy I carpool with.

Or this guy I know named Andrew.

I left an off-the-cuff comment on Andrew’s blog* comparing the liberal / conservative tension with the tension between Wesleyanism and Calvinism. And Andrew, well, called me out and asked me to elaborate. So here goes… 😉

While there are certain things on which Wesleyans and Calvinists do not agree, the basic precept at the heart of the matter is a love for God and Jesus Christ and the desire to live according to His will. I can see a basic similarity between Democrats and Republicans — members of both are driven by a desire to do some good.

Unfortunately, when a member of one engages a member of the other in conversation, you tend to end up with something resembling Congress — lots of talk and little progress. When the time comes to interact, both behave like something more akin to the asinus side of the Equidae family.

But there are some, like another friend I know who happens to be a Calvinist, with whom I can dialog about our differences, and we can still part as friends.

There’s a moment in an old TV show called M*A*S*H that played near the end of the show’s run. The members of the 4077 are placing items into a time capsule. Father Mulcahy, the troop’s devout and constant padre, contributes a pair of boxing gloves. Here’s hoping future wars can be settled with these, he says.

It’s one of those gestures that almost reeks with cheery, naïve sentimentality, but I always liked it. Because I really don’t think there’s anything wrong with believing that John Wesley and John Calvin, had they known each other, could have sat down at a pub, had a beer, and walked out speaking of only the best about each other.

Congress has few people of such character, though I am sure they exist. They exist in church as well, though they are difficult to find. But, such is the extent of my intended metaphor; I leave to you, reader, to draw any other underlying connections.

*Typically, I would provide a link, but won’t in this case. His site is more of a personal network blog, and I do not want to infringe on his space.

Written by taj

March 31, 2008 at 12:23 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said

    Ralph

    March 31, 2008 at 7:52 am


Leave a Reply

