QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Guitar Hero Humble Pie

with 2 comments

Over the weekend, I finally had the opportunity to play that phenomenon of video games (and, so I’ve read, frequent diversion for writers caught in the WGA strike) – Guitar Hero III

Where video games are concerned, I was a once a solid contender.  My aptitude for the controller knew no bounds.  But then adulthood arrived and the need to pay rent soon overwhelmed the need to buy video games, and I bid my consoles farewell long ago. 

I imagined I would take to Guitar Hero well enough.  Having never played, I knew I was in for a challenge.  But when, upon failing one of the training courses, someone actually quips, “Wow, I’ve never seen that happen before,” something is dreadfully wrong.  I am now about eight years removed any serious video game playing, already in danger of becoming one of those old relics whose children will lament to their friends my inability to play. 

Luckily, some friends of ours have procured a Nintendo Wii, so maybe I can recapture some skills there as a freeloading amateur.  (crosses fingers)

Written by taj

April 28, 2008 at 12:42 pm

Posted in General, Pop Culture

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s not about how well you play, it’s about did you have fun?

    ambri

    April 28, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  2. Oh yeah, I had fun. But I am definitlely NOT a legend of rock. I only go as far as folk tale.

    😎

    taj

    April 28, 2008 at 2:08 pm


Leave a Reply

