QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

“I see now what I have to become to stop men like him.”

with 4 comments

The Dark KnightTheatrical trailer

***UPDATED***

My excitement for this picture grows every week. Each trailer has further revealed the many layers this story looks to cover, particularly Bruce Wayne’s struggle against a kind of criminal that more closely resembles the senseless malevolence of terrorism.

The more I see, the bigger the story looks, and the rumors that the filmmakers were working feverishly to trim the film down from three hours look less and less unfounded.

The inclusion of District Attorney Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) adds a twist. Fans will recall his destiny as  Two-Face.  Since I learned of the character’s inclusion in the film, I’ve been curious how Christopher Nolan would handle it.

There’s much more to the character than what we saw in Tommy Lee Jones’s incarnation.  Dent’s arc, if handled properly, would add a great character-driven element to the mythos of this particular iteration.  I love the foreshadowing offered by the trailer as Dent pontificates, “You either die the hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain.”

Once the previous Batman films ventured into the realm of two villains per picture, things started to go a little awry. Begins handled the dual villainy of the Scarecrow and Ra’s Al Ghul pretty well.  But, the Joker’s already larger than life, and there has to be a line to cross where things start to look bloated.  We’ll just have to wait and see.

Various other sites are beginning to post pictures of Dent after his…”incident.”  I’ve avoided them, plan to until I see the film.  I want to be blown away by this picture.  I expect to be.  And I have had my hopes dashed before, so I remain a little guarded.  Sequels like Aliens, The Godfather Part II, or even Spider-Man 2, do not appear very often.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Written by taj

May 5, 2008 at 11:19 am

Posted in Movies, Pop Culture, stories

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep this is the trailer that is shown in front of Iron man. Exellent film by the way….there’s this part were they …….. then they …….. then there is this BIG ……….. heheheheeh

    ambri

    May 5, 2008 at 2:33 pm

  2. Should I complain about how “less unfounded” is such horrible English? 😛

    Peter Pike

    May 5, 2008 at 4:52 pm

  3. Bring it, boys. Water off a duck’s back. That’s right. 😎

    taj

    May 5, 2008 at 7:07 pm

  4. It looks like the studio is having the images pulled so if your gona take a look do it fast. The one image i have seen is well think of the bodies that are turned to plastic after death, just more chard.

    ambri

    May 6, 2008 at 9:55 am


Leave a Reply

