QUADRIVIUM

Have you come here to play Jesus to the lepers in your head?

Archive for May 31st, 2007

Three Questions on Harry Potter

with 2 comments

I’ve meant to write about this for a while, and thanks to FFC and the Sword of Gryffindor, I have a good excuse. 

1) How/when did you become a Harry Potter fan?
Two summers ago – 2005.  Like most Christians, all I had heard about the books were the complaints that they encouraged kids to study witchcraft, disobey / disrespect their parents / authority figures, and an assortment of other evils.  I had seen the first film during its theatrical run, and while was entertained, the ending had confused me.  I could not discern any evil influence that compelled me to go out and learn to fly a broom, but I kept hearing all these rumors, so I never picked up the books. 

Two things finally compelled me to read the books.  On the counsel of two friends that the spells in the books came from actual occult material, I started to investigate some of the claims raised against the books.  Meanwhile, my brother and another friend—both Christians as well—kept telling me how excited they were about the release of next book (at that time, The Half-Blood Prince). 

After some reading, I figured that if the spells really do come from actual occult practices, no one has ever bothered to say so on paper.  If they have, I can’t find their testimonial.

So, I finally decided to figure this mania out for myself.  I went to Barnes and Noble that summer in ’05 armed with a gift card, and bought books one through four.  I devoured them over three weeks, and the ending to the first story finally made since.  By the time I bought and read book five soon after, I felt I should at least confess that I was a Christian, and that I enjoyed Harry Potter.  Despite by best efforts, I have yet to turn either of my cats into wine goblets. 

2) What was your first reaction (physical and/or mental) when you read the scene in which Snape killed Dumbledore?
I had to read the page twice.  Then I got up, walked the hall a few times.  I sat back down and read the rest of the novel in a weird state of…well, shock.  I wasn’t very familiar with narrative misdirection then, but Rowling had successfully landed her sucker punch.  I never saw it coming. 

3) How/when will you read Deathly Hallows?
According to Amazon.com, the book is supposed to arrive on the day it’s released.  UPS has shown up at my house as late as eight in the evening to deliver packages, so I’ll just have to see.  But as soon as I get it, every moment I can spare will be spent drinking it in. 

Written by taj

May 31, 2007 at 2:44 pm